The City of Kingston, NY

    Welcome to the City of Kingston, NY

    Kingston, dating to the arrival of the Dutch in 1652, is a vibrant city with rich history and architecture, was the state's first capital, and a thriving arts community. City Hall is in the heart of the community at 420 Broadway, and is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except July & August (9 a.m. to 4 p.m.).  Come tour our historic City, with restaurants that are among the region's finest, and local shopping that promises unique finds.

    Historic Churches

    Kingston is home to many historic churches. The oldest church still standing is the First Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Kingston which was organized in 1659. Referred to as The Old Dutch Church, it is located in Uptown Kingston. Many of the city's historic churches populate Wurts street (6 in one block) among them Hudson Valley Wedding Chapel is a recently restored church built in 1867 and now a chapel hosting weddings. Another church in the Rondout is located at 72 Spring Street. Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church was founded in 1849. The original church building at the corner of Hunter Street and Ravine Street burned to the ground in the late 1850s. The current church on Spring Street was built in 1874.

    Kingston, NY

    Kingston became New York's first capital in 1777, and was burned by the British on October 13, 1777, after the Battles of Saratoga. In the 19th century, the city became an important transport hub after the discovery of natural cement in the region, and had both railroad and canal connections.

    Kingston, NY

    The town of Rondout, New York, now a part of the city of Kingston, became an important freight hub for the transportation of coal from Honesdale, Pennsylvania to New York City through the Delaware and Hudson Canal. This hub was later used to transport other goods, including bluestone. Kingston shaped and shipped most of the bluestone made to create the sidewalks of New York City.


    Contact Us

    City Hall Address:
    420 Broadway
    Kingston, New York

    (845) 331-0080
    [email protected]

    Kingston News

    5/25/2013 - Matthewis Persen House Open for the Season
    May 25th - The Matthewis Persen House, one of Ulster County’s oldest and one of America’s most significant buildings is open again. Join the ribbon-cutting ceremony to open the house for another season at 10:15 a.m. Named after its longest resident, Matthewis Persen (1739-1819), the house is rapidly becoming a proven feature of Kingston’s Stockade National Historic District. The house has witnessed it all, from Native American contact to the present day. It was burned twice, saw wars and revolution and was home to doctors, tailors, grocers, druggists and innkeepers. Matthewis himself, kept a tavern there. An archaeological dig in just one section uncovered over 20,000 artifacts including Native American projectile points, Delft tiles, Colonial era cannon balls, and post holes from the former 1658 stockade. The house is open Tuesday through Friday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Saturdays 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. from Memorial Day through August 31st. The Matthewis Persen House is located at 74 John Street, in the Stockade District of uptown Kingston. It’s one of four landmark buildings on the corner of John and Crown Streets – the only intersection in the United States with pre-revolutionary stone houses on all four corners. For more information please contact Nina Postupack, Ulster County Clerk, at (845) 340-3040.