The City of Kingston, NY

    Welcome to the City of Kingston, NY

    Kingston, dating to the arrival of the Dutch in 1652, is a vibrant city with rich history and architecture, was the state's first capital, and a thriving arts community. City Hall is in the heart of the community at 420 Broadway, and is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except July & August (9 a.m. to 4 p.m.).  Come tour our historic City, with restaurants that are among the region's finest, and local shopping that promises unique finds.

    Historic Churches

    Kingston is home to many historic churches. The oldest church still standing is the First Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Kingston which was organized in 1659. Referred to as The Old Dutch Church, it is located in Uptown Kingston. Many of the city's historic churches populate Wurts street (6 in one block) among them Hudson Valley Wedding Chapel is a recently restored church built in 1867 and now a chapel hosting weddings. Another church in the Rondout is located at 72 Spring Street. Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church was founded in 1849. The original church building at the corner of Hunter Street and Ravine Street burned to the ground in the late 1850s. The current church on Spring Street was built in 1874.

    Kingston, NY

    Kingston became New York's first capital in 1777, and was burned by the British on October 13, 1777, after the Battles of Saratoga. In the 19th century, the city became an important transport hub after the discovery of natural cement in the region, and had both railroad and canal connections.

    Kingston, NY

    The town of Rondout, New York, now a part of the city of Kingston, became an important freight hub for the transportation of coal from Honesdale, Pennsylvania to New York City through the Delaware and Hudson Canal. This hub was later used to transport other goods, including bluestone. Kingston shaped and shipped most of the bluestone made to create the sidewalks of New York City.

     

    Contact Us

    City Hall Address:
    420 Broadway
    Kingston, New York
    12401

    Phone:
    (845) 331-0080

    Kingston News

    12/20/2018 - Parking at City Hall very limited and Front Entrance closed

    December 19, 2018

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

     

    ROOF REPAIR WORK AT CITY HALL WILL AFFECT MAIN ENTRANCE AND PARKING

     

    KINGSTON, N.Y. – Work will begin for repairing the roof at City Hall, starting Thursday, December 19, 2018. The contractor, Titan Roofing of Albany, will begin mobilization of equipment and materials on site this week, and actual construction work will commence on Wednesday, December 26, 2018.

    The section of Flannery Drive, the driveway directly in front of City Hall, will be closed off during the roof repair, and will preclude all parking in that area. Access to the front entrance of City Hall will also be closed. The tentative completion date for the project is January 31, 2019.  The completion date will be dependent on the weather and any other unforeseen circumstances which could arise and cause a delay of work.

    Construction will begin at the back (northerly side) of the building, and is estimated to take approximately two weeks to complete, at which point work will move to the other three sides. During the initial two week work period, parking along the rear (northerly side) of the building will also be restricted.  Once the work is completed on that section, the restriction will be lifted and regular parking will resume. The two Accessible parking spaces in the back parking lot will remain open and active for the duration of the roof repair project. Visitors are encouraged to use street parking during this time. 

    The City Hall roof was last replaced nearly 30 years ago, and suffered severe damage during the March 2 Nor’easter. Emergency repairs were made at the time, but more extensive work was necessary.